24.9 C
Friday, June 18, 2021
Home Sports Shikhar Dhawan To Lead India In Sri Lanka ODI, T20I Collection As...

Shikhar Dhawan To Lead India In Sri Lanka ODI, T20I Collection As BCCI Names Squad

The Board of Management for Cricket in India (BCCI) introduced India Males’s squad for the upcoming three-match ODI sequence and three-match T20I sequence towards Sri Lanka. Shikhar Dhawan will lead within the absence of standard captain Virat Kohli and vice-captain Rohit Sharma, who’re on the tour of England with the Take a look at crew. Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been named vice-captain. The squad has a number of new faces in middle-order batsman Nitish Rana, all-rounder Ok Gowtham, opening batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad and quick bowler Chetan Sakariya amongst others. Devdutt Padikkal, one other opening batsman, additionally options within the squad whilst Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, and Simarjeet Singh have been named as web bowlers.

BCCI additionally confirmed the schedule for the upcoming series with all matches set to be performed on the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

The ODIs will probably be performed on July 13, 16 and 18 adopted by the T20Is on July 21, 23 and 25.

The squad picked for the tour has a number of common gamers lacking because the Indian Take a look at crew is on a tour of England to play the World Test Championship (WTC) final towards New Zealand beginning June 18 in Southampton.

The WTC remaining will probably be adopted by a five-match Take a look at sequence towards England beginning August 4.

Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan, who made spectacular begins to their India careers within the limited-overs sequence towards England in March have been named for the Sri Lanka tour as nicely.

Seasoned pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar will lead the quick bowling assault comprising Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini and newcomer Sakariya.

Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar and Kuldeep Yadav are front-line spinners whereas Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya and Ok Gowtham slot in as all-rounders.


Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan are the 2 wicket-keepers named within the squad.

Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Ok Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

Matters talked about on this article

Source link

Most Popular